Concession Cup

First held in 2014, the Concession Cup is a biennial team competition between top mid-amateurs and seniors in the United States and Great Britain & Ireland.

The players who played on the inaugural Concession Cup teams had a combined total of over 35 Walker Cup appearances, over 10 Eisenhower Trophy appearances, over 20 Masters appearances, and had won over 15 USGA championships. This esteemed group of amateurs came together for three days of international competition that celebrated the amateur game, strengthened relationships across these golfing nations, and raised considerable money for charities benefitting the game of golf.

The second playing of the Concession Cup took place April 21-23, 2016 at The Concession Golf Club and consisted of a similarly strong group of amateur golfers from both sides.

The Concession Cup Matches are played for the Bonallack Campbell Trophy, named in honor of two legendary amateurs whose accomplishments on the course can only be matched by their contributions to the game off the course. Sir Michael Bonallack from England and William C. Campbell from America competed in a bygone era when many of the world’s best players still chose to remain amateur. Each rose to the top of the amateur game by winning multiple national championships and representing their countries numerous times in international competition. In addition to their stellar playing records, both men also served the game at the highest levels of administration, leading golf’s governing bodies the R&A and USGA. True amateurs who played solely for the love of the game, valued its sportsmanship and camaraderie, and gave back through their leadership and influence, these men represent the spirit in which the Concession Cup was founded. The Amateur Golf Alliance was pleased to obtain permission to name the trophy for these matches in their honor.

Sir Michael Bonallack, OBE, from Essex, England, was born in 1934 and has had a distinguished career in the game. During his competitive playing career, he was the leading British amateur golfer having won The Amateur Championship five times and representing GB&I nine times in the Walker Cup, twice as a playing captain. He also won the English Amateur five times, the Brabazon Trophy four times, and represented England in the Eisenhower Trophy seven times. In professional major championships, he competed in The Masters three times and The Open Championship 13 times, twice earning the Silver Medal for low amateur in 1968 and 1971 and finishing t-11 in 1959.

As an administrator, Sir Bonallack was Secretary of the R&A from 1984-1999. During this time he helped guide the growth of The Open that allowed for significant reinvestment in the development of the game. After his time as Secretary, he served as Captain of the R&A in 2000.

Sir Bonallack received the Bob Jones Award, the USGA’s highest honor, in 1972 and was inducted in to the World Golf Hall of Fame in 2000.

William C. Campbell, from West Virginia, USA, was born in 1923 and passed away in 2013. He won the 1964 US Amateur, the 1979 and 1980 US Senior Amateur, and represented the USA eight times in the Walker Cup, once as playing captain. He played in the US Amateur 37 times, 33 times consecutively from 1941-1977. He also won the West Virgina Amateur 15 times and the North and South Amateur three times. In professional major championships, he competed in The Masters 17 times, the US Open 15 times, and he finished second overall in the inaugural US Senior Open in 1980.

Campbell’s major USGA victories came at times when he was also serving on the Executive Committee of the USGA. He was on the Executive Committee from 1962-1965 and again from 1977-1984, serving as President in 1982 and 1983. In 1987 he was named Captain of the R&A, the first person to head both the USGA and R&A.

Campbell received the Bob Jones Award, the USGA’s highest honor, in 1956 and was inducted in to the World Golf Hall of Fame in 1990.

For full information, please visit the main Concession Cup website.